Honor in killing?–Incredible India


I like to write about the burning issues of the society. Hence, this is my another attempt to focus on such an issue. Of course, it is about an issue seen in the India.

India is having the most ancient culture of the world. It has seen a lot of different emperors ruling the country. Being an ancient culture, the society is based on the old science and rituals and they are rigid. They are less affected by the logic.

What I’m going to talk about is an issue about which so much is written and discussed –Honour Killing.

timthumb_003

The Hindu religion is the oldest one and it is full of some malpractices. One of the worst examples which boils blood was the ‘Sati Practice’ (Sati is roughly synonymous to good wife). When the husband used to die, his wife was immolated on his funeral pyre. it was believed that both would rest in peace together. Absurd!

Thanks to the Britishers , who banned this malpractice before approximately 150 years. It has now completely disappeared. But as we know, when one chapter ends, another starts. Honor killing is the another shameful chapter. Girls are killed when they marry against the will of the family to re-establish their own ‘ honor’ in the society.

M_Id_95955_honour_killing

I don’t know why the Indians are treating the females only like this. Perhaps, because they are brought up as weak. These so-called pseudo leaders of the society are the waste of the society who need to be cleaned before they kill any more girls. They are proud of killing their daughters or sisters and proudly say that ‘yes, I have killed my daughter/sister as she married to a guy of the other cast or status.’ No laws are operative in such cases.

When I think and recollect some of such events, I start questioning the greatness of the Indian culture. I feel small. We are attempting a crime and god will never forgive for such an absurd crime.

No wonder why the India is a poor country. If such a malpractitioner country becomes a superpower, nothing worse than that can ever happen on this earth. Society needs cleansing, deep cleansing. It wont be possible until and unless respecting the women and respecting the nature’s law.

One one of the oldest holy books of the Hindus say :

यत्र नार्यस्तु पूज्यन्ते रमन्ते तत्र देवता: |

Means : Wherever ladies are respected, god exists there.

In spite of such great guidance from the ancient thinkers, we have disrupted the whole meaning. We Indians have become egoist. Osho had said against this society’s malpractices, ego came in between and he was painted bad. Respect the holy books at least.

Let us forget the holy verses for a moment. Is it humanoid to kill anyone? Especially when that anyone is our daughter or sister? Where have the emotions gone? Have we become wild? Do we need a rethink?

Spark:

“My name is Ashallyn’darkmyr Tallyn, third son of the Unseelie Court…Let it be known–from this day forth, I vow to protect Meghan Chase, daughter of the Summer King, with my sword, my honor, and my life. Her desires are mine. Her wishes are mine. Should even the world stand against her, my blade will be at her side. And should it fail to protect her, let my own existence be forfeit. This I swear, on my honor, my True Name, and my life. From this day on…” His voice went even softer, but I still heard it as though he whispered it into my ear. “I am yours.”
Julie Kagawa, The Iron Queen

About Bhagyesh Pathak

Traveller, Reader, Rationalist, Biotechnologist, Science communicator. An avid learner of new things. Enjoys reading books, blogging, gazing at sky, working on hobby electronics projects, practicing Guitar chords and watching movies. An advocate of skill-development for everyone and immediate-renaissance in the field of education. Supporter of Mars Colonization by humans (Our Next Giant Leap)
This entry was posted in India, Think over it, Women and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Honor in killing?–Incredible India

  1. Hello Friend,
    I am happy to read similar views to my post “No honor in honor-killing” on my blog “William’s Tales”.

Leave a comment

